All you need to know about the FIFA International team Spain

Spain National Football Team is a men’s football squad that has won the FIFA World Cup only once, in 2010. The Royal Spanish Football Federation, Spain’s regulatory organization for football, governs the squad. It is part of the European continent’s UEFA Confederation. Spain is one of the eight national teams to have won the World Cup, having competed in 16 of the 22 FIFA World Cups and qualifying consecutively since 1978.

There is no denying that the Spanish teams from 2008–2012 were among the finest in the world of football.  The primary cause of that is their now-iconic “tiki-taka” style of football, which was characterized by continuous movement, possession, and quick passes. But Spain had already had success prior to the invention of tiki-taka, having won the European Championship in 1964 and finishing fourth in the 1950 World Cup.

History of the Spain National Football Team


A few years back Spain had a wide range of skilled players looking for a system. Their biggest asset and the weakest point was their midfield, which had players like Xavi, Andres Iniesta, and David Silva. Most of their opponents were physically stronger than all of them, despite their technical ability and composure under pressure. In addition, it appeared that Spain’s defenders were prone to making critical mistakes. Aragonés began utilizing his own brand of tiki-taka, a playstyle that prioritized passing and possession, to address these problems. At the Euro 2008, Spain was paired with Russia, Sweden, and the reigning champions Greece in a group, putting a full show of this tactic on display. Even though Spain ultimately let up a goal in each of these matches, they still won each one and took first place in their group.

The quarterfinal matchup against reigning World Cup champions Italy presented them with their toughest challenge. The game ended in a 0-0 draw and went to penalties because their high-press approach against tiki-taka was successful. But Spain went on to prevail 4-2, winning the penalty shootout. They then defeated Germany (1-0) and Russia (3-0) to win their first major championship in 44 years. Xavi was chosen as the tournament’s best player despite having zero goals.

First major trophy

The Spanish Football Federation chose the illustrious Helenio Herrera to be their next coach after they failed to advance to the following two World Cups. In the 1960 European Championship qualifiers, they defeated Poland 7-2 on aggregate to go to the quarterfinals. But because of Franco’s dictatorship’s political differences with the Soviets, they lost their tie against them.

Spain was given a second opportunity by making it to the 1964 European Championship final stage four years later. They upset a much fancied Hungarian team in extra time in the semi-finals. They faced up against the Soviet Union once more in the championship game, but this time they were allowed to participate by Franco. The team won 2-1 in a tight and well-contested match to win its first major prize in history.

Spain National Football Team: FIFA World Cup results

Spain’s National Football Team has competed in the World Cup 15 times (FIFA World Cup qualification not included).

2018Round of 16
2014Group Stage
2006Round of 16
1998Group Stage
1990Round of 16
1982*Group Stage 2
1978Group Stage
1974Not Qualified
1970Not Qualified
1966Group Stage
1962Group Stage
1958Not Qualified
1954Not Qualified
19504th place
1930Decline to participate

Spain National Football Team Most Famous Players

Sergio Busquets

Possibly his generation’s most underrated player. He doesn’t receive as much attention as he deserved as a defensive midfielder. He is the ideal illustration of a player who maintains a low profile but allows his performance on the field that speaks for itself. He is well-recognized for his ball control, resilience under pressure, and outstanding passing abilities. He played a significant role in the midfield of Barcelona and Spain, two teams that have dominated international football in recent years. He has won many domestic championships in addition to three Champions Leagues, two Euros, and a World Cup.

David Silva

There is already a monument of the Manchester City legend outside the Etihad stadium. That reveals what a huge symbol Silva is. Unquestionably, he ranks among the finest midfielders to ever compete in the Premier League. Silva played a significant role in helping City win the inaugural PL championship in the 2011–2012 season. The shrewd midfielder was renowned for his playmaking and passing abilities. Throughout his illustrious career, El Mago won several trophies, including four Premier League championships, a World Cup, and European Championships.

Carles Puyol

In addition to leading FC Barcelona and Spain, the illustrious captain was renowned for his generosity and modesty, which matched his equally outstanding efforts at the center of his team’s defense. In 2009, he led Barcelona to win an unprecedented treble, and he later rose to become one of the finest defenders of his time. He appeared in more than 580 games for Barcelona and scored a lot of crucial goals. In addition to the various domestic championships, he also won three Champions Leagues and six La Liga championships. In addition, he played 100 games for Spain, winning both the Euros and the World Cup.

Spain National Football Team: FIFA World Cup Group

Group E
Costa Rica

Spain FIFA World Cup 2022 Schedule

DateMatchTime (ET)Stadium
Wed, Nov. 23Spain vs. Costa Rica11 a.m.Al Thumama
Sun, Nov. 27Spain vs. Germany2 p.m.Al Bayt
Thurs, Dec. 1Japan vs. Spain2 p.m.Khalifa Int’l

Spain National Football Squad for FIFA World Cup

GoalkeeperDavid Raya
GoalkeeperRobert Sanchez 
GoalkeeperUnai Simon
DefenderJordi Alba 
DefenderMarcos Alonso 
DefenderCesar Azpilicueta
DefenderDani Carvajal 
DefenderEric Garcia
DefenderJose Gaya
DefenderAymeric Laporte
DefenderPau Torres
MidfielderSergio Busquets
MidfielderMarcos Llorente 
MidfielderDani Olmo
MidfielderSergi Roberto
MidfielderCarlos Soler
ForwardMarco Asensio
ForwardAnsu Fati
ForwardAlvaro Morata 
ForwardPablo Sarabia
ForwardFerran Torres

Summing It Up!

Spain National Football Team is a men’s football squad that has won the FIFA World Cup only once, in 2010. The Royal Spanish Football Federation, Spain’s regulatory organization for football, governs the squad. Spain has competed in the World Cup 15 times. Let’s see how far Spain will go in this FIFA World Cup.

Read More: All you need to know about the FIFA International team Portugal

Martin is a sports enthusiast and loves to write about trending events globally. He has also been selected for one of the FIFA World Cup Volunteering in 2014. Moreover, he loves to watch TV Shows and is a die hard Kobe Bryant Fan!