Facts about Ryder Cup vs President Cup


Ever got confused between the Ryder Cup and President Cup? As both of them are a part of golf. Many golf lovers often looks for a difference among them. Although in this guide we will highlight the important Facts about Ryder Cup vs the President Cup.

The first and foremost difference among them is that the men’s golf competitions between the United States and the rest of the world held as part of the Presidents Cup. The Americans compete against the Europeans in the Ryder Cup.

Also Read: Ryder Cup star Shane Lowry says Trevor Immelman has “right attitude”

The meaning behind their names

The Presidents Cup’s history is what gave rise to the “Presidents Cup.” Gerald Ford who is a former president of the United States and a keen golfer, served as the honorary chairman of the early tournament.

Then-President Bill Clinton, the 41st President of the United States, George H. W. Bush, Australian Prime Minister John Howard, former President of South Africa Thabo Mbeki, George W. Bush, and Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper have all come after it.

As you already know that Ryder Cup is a biennial men’s golf competition only from the teams of United States and Europe. Hence, it is named after an English businessman, Samuel Ryder. He also donated the trophy. A fact about Ryder Cup is that it is run by the Ryder Cup Europe and PGA of America

Also Read: PGA Championship Offers Beer for a “Price of $18” leaving fans in a shock

The beginning of these competition

The Presidents Cup played for the first time in 1994 At the Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia.

At Worcester Country Club in Worcester, Massachusetts, the Ryder Cup was first played in the United States in 1927. However, the United States and Great Britain competed in the first Ryder Cup match.

Also Read: India is set to host the first MotoGP World Championship Race

Selection of the teams


The Ryder Cup team is selected from two sets of points. For every euro (which is equal to $1.33 US) earned in competitions through the year, the Ryder Cup is typically played. Players are required to earn two points.

In most cases, the top 5 players are picked from the Ryder Cup European Points List. The remaining 5 players are chosen from the Ryder Cup World Points List. The team’s different captains decide on the final two players.

Each team in the Presidents Cup has 12 players, and eight of them have assured spots based on their standing on the season-long points list. The final four players are chosen by each team’s captains.

Also Read: Cole Beasley signs contract with Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Facts about Ryder Cup – Scheduling


Four days are normally given for the Presidents Cup, usually from Thursday through Sunday. Sunday singles follow the first three days of team matches, which include alternate shots (foursomes) and better ball (four-ball). However, the Ryder Cup usually lasts longer than three days. There are typically 28 matches in the Ryder Cup.

Also Read: Mathias Pogba taken into police custody due to allegations against his brother

Significant difference between the Ryder Cup and President Cup

The Presidents Cup and the Ryder Cup are very different from one another. The United States competes against a foreign team in the Presidents Cup. The international team in this case means to all nations excluding Europe. However, the United States only competes against Europe in the Ryder Cup.

Read More: Jurgen Klopp mocks Chelsea owner Todd Boehly over his idea


There is no cash reward for the Presidents Cup. However the players, captains, and captain’s assistants often nominate charities for the net revenues for donations.

The only compensation given to Ryder Cup competitors is in the form of gifts from their leaders, which are funded by the Ryder Cup pool. When Tony Jacklin was a captain, he initiated this trend.

Read More: Coach Trevor Sinclair deletes twitter account due to investigation

Highest Viewers

The Presidents Cup Final Day Single matches on Saturday at Royal Melbourne Golf Club thought to have attracted the most television viewers in Presidents Cup history. However, on the first day, several audience delivers of 1.742 million viewers per minute, including 1.705 million viewers per minute, recorded, making it a linear telecast. However, from 11:15 to 11:30 p.m., the number of watchers exceeded 2.15 million per minute.

The Ryder Cup generated record streaming numbers, with viewers watching 11.1 million minutes of the match’s final round on Sunday as Europe’s top 12 golfers defeated the United States by a score of 17 12 to 10 12 at Le Golf National in the French capital.

Facts about Ryder Cup – Winning stats

Over the course of the last 13 Presidents Cup games, the American team won 11 times, the international team once, and one match was a tie.

From 1927 to 2018, the United States played 42 Ryder Cup matches, winning 26 and losing 14. Between 1927 and 2018 Great Britain and Ireland played 22 games, winning three and losing 18. Between 1979 and 2018, Europe played 20 matches, winning 11 and losing 8.

The top players

The followings are some of the top players of the Ryder Cup:

  • Jack Nicklaus – 18.5 points (17-8-3)
  • Nick Faldo – 25 points (23-19-4)
  • Bernhard Langer – 24 points (21-15-6)
  • Colin Montgomerie – 23.5 points (20-9-7)

The following are some of the top players of the Presidents Cup:

  • Brooks Koepka – 8,310 Points
  • Justin Thomas – 6,949 Points
  • Dustin Johnson – 6,643 Points
  • Patrick Cantlay – 5,898 Points

Locations where both the Ryder Cup and President Cup took place

The following are some of the remarkable venues where the Ryder Cup took place:

  • 2010: Celtic Manor Resort, Wales
  • 1999: The Country Club, Brookline, MA
  • 1963: East Lake Country Club, Atlanta, GA
  • 1959: Eldorado Country Club, Palm Desert, CA
  • 1949: Ganton Golf Club, Scarborough, England
  • 2014: Gleneagles Hotel, Perthshire, Scotland
  • 1979: The Greenbrier, White Sulfer Springs, WV
  • 2016: Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, MN
  • 2006: The K Club, Straffan, Co. Kildare, Ireland
  • 1975: Laurel Valley Golf Club, Ligonier, PA

The followings are some of the remarkable venues where the Presidents Cup took place:

  • 2019: Royal Melbourne Golf Club Melbourne, Australia
  • 2017: Liberty National Golf Club Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
  • 2015: Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea Incheon, South Korea
  • 2013: Muirfield Village Dublin, Ohio, USA
  • 2011: Royal Melbourne Golf Club Melbourne, Australia
  • 2009: Harding Park Golf Club San Francisco, California
  • 2007: Royal Montreal Golf Club Montreal, Canada
  • 2005: Robert Trent Jones Golf Club Gainesville, Virginia, USA
  • 2003: Fancourt, South Africa
  • 2000: Robert Trent Jones Golf Club Gainesville, Virginia, USA

Wrapping up!

These were some of the Facts about Ryder Cup and we hope it clears out all your confusions. The Presidents Cup is equal to the Ryder Cup in both good and bad ways. Both of them are excellent competitions. Because of the international pace of the sport, the Presidents Cup is extremely well-known. Because of its popularity on a global scale, the Ryder Cup holds greater status than the Presidents Cup.

Read More: Tyler Higbee contract alters by $4.75M for more Cap Space

Sophie is a sports broadcaster and journalist for VPN Sports. She has been reporting news on football for over a year now.