All you need to know about the FIFA world cup trophy

With the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar rapidly approaching, we’ve all begun to imagine our national heroes carrying the renowned golden trophy on the sands of the desert in December. The FIFA World Cup’s legacy is as interesting as the numerous matches it has witnessed. Despite all the hardship, suffering, and happiness the World Cup trophy itself has an astonishing story to tell. The most recognizable trophy in all of sports, which is instantly recognized anywhere on the entire planet, has had a turbulent journey. Despite the fact that the World Cup was first held in 1930, the trophy itself is just 50 years old.

The FIFA World Cup trophy which is a new version that was introduced in 1974, is now been awarded to football world champions. The new model received 53 submissions from seven different nations, but Silvio Gazzaniga of Italy was finally awarded the job. The FIFA World Cup trophy is 36.5 cm tall and weighs 6.175 kg. It is made of 18-karat (75%) gold. The base is spherical and 13 cm in diameter, made of two layers of malachite.

All About the FIFA World Cup Trophy

The FIFA World Cup Trophy is perhaps one of the most recognizable awards in sports. It is also perhaps the most valuable piece of metal after an Olympic gold medal. Modern soccer fans, on the other hand, may be unaware that the World Cup trophy hasn’t always looked the same. In the history of the FIFA World Cups, two distinct trophies have been used.  We’ll explore the origins and history of this renowned piece of the prize in this article.

The Jules Rimet Trophy

The first trophy given to FIFA World Cup champions was the Jules Rimet Trophy. From 1930 through 1970, winners received this trophy. The previous trophy’s original name was “Victory”. This trophy was known as the World Cup or Coupe du Monde in its early years. The Jules Rimet Trophy was given a new name in 1946. Jules Rimet, a previous FIFA president who voted to have the inaugural FIFA World Cup in 1930, is honored by this change. From 1921 until 1954, the French football executive served as FIFA’s third President. He died in 1956.

The Jules Rimet trophy was made by French artist Abel Lafleur in 1930. The trophy was 14 inches (35 cm) tall and weighed 8.4 lbs (3.80 kg). The renowned award featured a lapis lazuli stone base and was made of sterling silver with gold plating. A winged image of Nike, the Greek Goddess of Victory, served as the trophy’s centerpiece. On top of an octagonal stone block, Nike’s statue was positioned. This foundation was rebuilt by a higher version before the 1954 World Cup to accommodate the names of new winning nations. Following Brazil’s third World Cup championship in 1970, the trophy was finally retired. According to the arrangements set forth by Jules Rimet, Brazil was given the opportunity to keep the trophy after its victory in Mexico.

Trophy stolen

The 1966 World Cup trophy was stolen while it was on display at the Methodist Central Hall in Westminster, just four months before the event took place in England. Scotland Yard and other law enforcement organizations made every effort to locate the trophy but were unsuccessful. One week after the incident, a dog named Pickles and his owner were on a stroll when they happened to come across the trophy, which was randomly left wrapped in the newspaper next to a parked car.

Pickles earned a medal and award for the finding, turning him into a national hero. Bobby Moore, the captain of England, was able to raise the original Jules Rimet Trophy at Wembley Stadium after his team defeated West Germany in the championship game because of the brave dog.

Trophy stolen again

For the third time, Brazil National Team won the 1970 World Cup and received the Jules Rimet Trophy forever, as was the tradition at the time. The actual trophy, however, was stolen for a 2nd time in 1983 from the Brazilian Football Confederation office in Rio, Brazil and was never found after that incident.

The New World Cup Trophy

FIFA need a replacement trophy when the Jules Rimet Trophy was retired. The organisation in charge of overseeing football issued a call for suggestions, and 53 sculptors from seven different nations responded. FIFA ultimately decided to use the creation of Italian artist Silvio Gazzaniga for their new World Cup trophy. It was created in 1971 by Bertoni, Milano, a Milan-based maker of medals and trophies. On the new trophy are two people holding the earth above their heads. This trophy is still in use and is well-known to soccer fans.
The gold trophy measures 14.4 inches (36.5 cm) in height and weighs 13.61 pounds (6.175 kg) of 18-carat gold. It is supported by a 5.1-inch (13-cm)-diameter base made of two layers of malachite. The World Cup trophy was worth an estimated $161,000 in 2018.

Is It Solid Gold?

The FIFA World Cup trophy weight is 6.175 kilogrammes. The Jules Rimet trophy weighed 3.80 kilos. The new trophy, according to many experts, is hollow. They said that the trophy would be too heavy for the winning team to handle if it was made of solid gold and would weigh between 70 and 80 kilos . FIFA has created new guidelines for the trophy’s custody. The original trophy is not given to the victors or subsequent winners. Instead, they receive a bronze duplicate from FIFA that has been gold-plated. In 1974, West Germany became the first team to win the new World Cup trophy. The FIFA World Cup current trophy, which has a maximum capacity of 17 nation names and years, will probably be discarded after the 2038 World Cup.

FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour

In recent World Cups, FIFA and Coca-Cola have travelled with the new trophy across the world for the promotion of the World Cup. It provides thousands of soccer fans with the opportunity to witness football’s most valued trophy and a once-in-a-lifetime chance to view the trophy in person. Before the 2018 World Cup, more than 220,000 individuals in Russia and across the planet got the opportunity to witness the renowned trophy in person. The 32 teams that have qualified for the competition are among the 51 nations and territories where the 2022 Trophy Tour will make stops. Iker Casillas and Kaká, two former world-class athletes, will tour with the trophy around the world.

Summing It Up!

Football world winners are currently presented with the FIFA World Cup trophy, a new version that was unveiled in 1974. 53 submissions were submitted for the new model from seven different countries, but Silvio Gazzaniga of Italy was chosen in the end. The 36.5 cm tall and 6.175 kilogramme FIFA World Cup trophy is made of gold. It is constructed of gold that is 18 karat (75%). The base is constructed of two layers of malachite and is 13 cm in diameter.

Read More: World Cup prize money 2022: How much will the winners earn

Martin is a sports enthusiast and loves to write about trending events globally. He has also been selected for one of the FIFA World Cup Volunteering in 2014. Moreover, he loves to watch TV Shows and is a die hard Kobe Bryant Fan!