Millwall FC, a footballing institution rooted in Bermondsey, South East London, has carved its niche in the EFL Championship. Established in 1885 as Millwall Rovers, the club has retained its identity, even though its location shifted from Millwall in 1910. The iconic lion crest and the nickname ‘The Lions’ resonate with fans worldwide. Adorning dark blue shirts, white shorts, and blue socks, Millwall FC has seen many highs and lows in English football, including an FA Cup victory in 1937 and a memorable final in 2004. The fervent ‘Millwall Bushwackers’ fans electrify the atmosphere, especially during their fierce rivalry matches with West Ham United.

Millwall FC Team Squad & Net Worth

Millwall FC Team, a stalwart in English football, boasts a diverse squad that showcases talent across all positions on the field. To offer fans and enthusiasts a comprehensive insight, we’ve compiled a detailed table below. This table not only lists the current squad members of the Millwall FC Team but also highlights their respective positions on the pitch and their individual Net Worth.

Dive in to get a closer look at the financial stature of each player and understand the team’s composition better.

PlayerPositionNet Worth
George LongGoalkeeper€1m
Bartosz BialkowskiGoalkeeper€500k
Shaun HutchinsonDefender€1m
Murray WallaceDefender€2m
Jake CooperDefender€2m
Danny McNamaraDefender€1m
George SavilleDefender€1m
Maikel KieftenbeldDefender€1m
Charlie CresswellDefender€1.5m
Billy MitchellMidfielder€500k
George EvansMidfielder€1m
Jed WallaceMidfielder€2m
Benik AfobeMidfielder€2m
Tyler BureyMidfielder€500k
Tom BradshawForward€2m
Zian FlemmingForward€2m
Mason BennettForward€1m

Suggested Read: Hull City FC Team – A Deep Dive into the Tigers of English Football

Millwall FC Historical Footprints

Millwall FC’s inception in 1885 traces back to the workers of Millwall Ironworks on the Isle of Dogs. Their footballing journey began with a 5-0 victory against Northfleet Shipbuilding Company on March 22, 1885. Joining the Southern League in 1894, they clinched titles in 1904 and 1906. By 1920, Millwall had established its presence in the Football League, marking its territory in the Second Division.

Their golden moment came in 1937, defeating Sunderland 3-2 in the FA Cup final. The subsequent decades saw them clinching the Second Division title in 1987, followed by triumphs in 1994 and 1999. Their 2004 FA Cup journey was commendable, even though they faced a 3-0 defeat against Manchester United. The 2010 victory in the League One title paved their way to the Championship in 2017.

Millwall FC Home Ground: The Den

Nestled in Bermondsey, South East London, The Den stands as a testament to Millwall FC’s legacy. With a capacity to host 20,146 spectators, this stadium has been the Lions’ fortress since 1993. The Den has witnessed numerous historic moments, from Southern League titles to the unforgettable FA Cup victory against Sunderland in 1937. The stadium not only serves as a footballing arena but also as a symbol of tradition and modern footballing excitement.

Millwall FC Leadership and Tactics

Gary Rowett, the current head coach, took charge in October 2019. With prior coaching stints at clubs like Burton Albion, Birmingham City, and Derby County, Rowett brought a fresh tactical approach to Millwall. His strategies and leadership have been pivotal in shaping the team’s on-pitch performance, guiding them toward their aspirations in the Championship.

Millwall FC Team Key Players

Millwall’s strength lies in its diverse squad. Defensively, stalwarts like Shaun Hutchinson, Jake Cooper, Murray Wallace, and Danny McNamara fortify the backline. The midfield sees the dynamism of Billy Mitchell and George Saville, controlling the game’s rhythm. Zian Flemming, the forward, is the goal-scoring machine, leading the attack. These players, with their combined efforts, represent the club’s ambitions and dreams.

Achievements Over the Years

Millwall’s footballing journey is adorned with several accolades. Apart from the 1937 FA Cup victory, they secured the Second Division championships in 1987, 1994, 1999, and 2001. Their prowess in the Third Division was evident with titles in 1928 and 1938. The 2010 League One victory and the 1999 Football League Trophy win further solidified their position in English football.

Suggested Read: FC Metz Team – A Deep Dive into the Historic French Club


Millwall FC, with its rich heritage and dedicated fanbase, remains a significant entity in English football. Competing fiercely in the EFL Championship, the club harbors ambitions of marking its territory in the Premier League. With a blend of tradition and modern footballing strategies, Millwall FC continues to inspire, aiming for greater accolades in the future.